Stack of books with a graduation cap on top.

Notre Dame Federal Credit Union Awards 23 Scholarships to Area Students

Posted on May 30, 2023

Notre Dame Federal Credit Union (Notre Dame FCU) awarded 23 scholarships to area high school and college students for the 2023-2024 academic school year. Recipients were celebrated during a reception on May 26 at the Morris Inn on the University of Notre Dame campus.

Back row (left to right): Linda Ontiveros, Regina Murphy, Dorothy Crumlish, Alexis Kloska, Mary Clare Elliot, Jeremiah Allard, Derick Shi, Olivia Plemons, Jacob Stanton. Front row (left to right): Madelinn Alwine, My Pham, Brenda Lopez, Nyah Smith, Reagan Morris, Emma Sidorowicz, Larissa Evans.

Graduating High School Recipients:
Jeremiah Allard, will attend Trine University, majoring in Criminal Justice
Madelinn Alwine, will attend Purdue University, majoring in Architectural Engineering
Larissa Evans, will attend Purdue University, majoring in Environmental Engineering
Alexis Kloska, will attend Benedictine College, majoring in Theology
Marie Liu, will attend Purdue University, majoring in Nursing
Brenda Lopez, will attend Ball State University, majoring in Psychology
Reagan Morris, will attend Grace College, majoring in Sonography
Linda Ontiveros, will attend Purdue University, major is undecided
Olivia Plemons, will attend Indiana University-Bloomington, majoring in Nursing
Derick Shi, will attend the University of Notre Dame, majoring in Computer Science
Emma Sidorowicz, will attend Purdue University, majoring in Kinesiology
Nyah Smith, will attend Wheeling University, majoring in Anesthesiology
Jacob Stanton, will attend Purdue University-Fort Wayne, majoring in Electrical Engineering

Current College Student Recipients:
Corinne Alonzo, University of Notre Dame, majoring in Biomedical Engineering
Brooke Borton, University of Notre Dame, majoring in Neuroscience and Behavior
Dorothy Crumlish, University of Notre Dame, majoring in Mechanical Engineering
Mary Clare Elliot, University of Notre Dame, majoring in Psychology
Nathaly Gonzalez, St. Mary’s College, majoring in Nursing
Allison Gordon, Indiana University-South Bend, majoring in Epidemiology
Jonathan Liu, Columbia University, majoring in Computer Science
Regina Murphy, University of Cincinnati, majoring in Communications and Ballet
My Pham, Indiana University-South Bend, majoring in Accounting
Samuel Villagra-Stanton, DePaul University, majoring in Film and Television Production

Reba Hayes, Committee Chair and Executive Administrative Assistant to the CEO, stated, “There is never a shortage of applicants with exceptional resumés, and the committee had an especially difficult time selecting the scholarship recipients this year. It truly touches my heart that our organization can play a role in furthering these students’ educational dreams.”

The scholarship committee, comprised of Notre Dame FCU partners (employees) and members of its Board of Directors, chose these students based on their academic achievement, financial need, community involvement, academic activities, and leadership.

Notre Dame FCU’s President and CEO, Tom Gryp, added, “As an institution committed to empowering families with financial resources and education, our scholarship program helps energize these qualified students with the tools to achieve academic excellence. The Notre Dame FCU scholarship program has awarded approximately 200 scholarships since its inception, with this year’s recipients inspiring us through their resilience, ambition, and commitment to making a positive impact.”

Community May 30, 2023

Become a Member

When you join Notre Dame FCU, you become a Member-Owner. Opening an account represents your personal ownership in the credit union. As a not-for-profit cooperative, we reinvest our profits in our members and in our communities.

Join now

Still have questions?

Simply fill out a request for information and a Notre Dame FCU representative will contact you shortly.

"*" indicates required fields